HELLIN Award Scheme



HELLIN Award Scheme


HELLIN has decided to establish an annual award scheme to recognize, celebrate and promote lifelong learning in higher education institutions in Ireland (north and south). Any department, centre, unit or group (or an individual in the case of research/paper/dissertation) affiliated with an institution that is a member of HELLIN may apply.


Five prizes will be awarded at the HELLIN annual conference at the University of Limerick on December 8, 2017. The prizes shall be for

1. the best lifelong learning project;

2. the best lifelong learning programme/course;

3. the best lifelong learning research /paper /dissertation and,

4. the best example of lifelong learning practice.

One of the four class winners shall be selected as the best overall Award 2017 (yet to be named).


Application shall be in two stages:


Stage 1 (Deadline September 30, 2017)

A brief description, maximum 500 words, outlining the key features, including, as relevant the proposal’s innovative aspects, its impacts; its transferability and its potential future sustainability. The proposers should also identify the category in which the proposal should be judged.


Stage 2 (Deadline November 30, 2017)

Shortlisted proposals shall be invited to proceed to Stage 2, at which point they shall give a more detailed 1,000 word description of their proposal. All shortlisted proposals shall present a poster at the annual conference, only proposals that present a poster shall be considered for an award.